What The Kale Are You Eating??

Nikki Bell

Hello!!!

Thank you for stopping by today to see what’s going on! I hope that you had a wonderful weekend and had a chance to get out and enjoy some of the amazing sun that we had here in Atlanta.

So if you are still reading I will assume that the title of this post got your attention…..LOL I love it! Okay, okay so let’s get down to what I am talking about and my new found love for kale. We all know or have heard or read about how good Kale is for the body and that this vegetable is packed with so many vitamins and nutrients. Some have even named Kale the healthiest food around and the benefits can provide the body with just about every vitamin you need.

Earlier this year I had the pleasure of attending the book signing of Chef Nikki Bell latest cook book title “A bit of this, a bit of that” that was hosted by none other than the Garner Circle here in Atlanta (www.garnercircle.com). Nikki was also a contestant on Food Network’s America’s Best Cook. To me some things take more convincing than others to try and the consumption of eating kale….well is one of those instances where more convincing is needed. To my surprise Nikki was doing live demonstrations of some of her delicious recipes from her cook book for the audience to taste. There was this huge bowl of kale that was beautiful and smelled amazing so amazing that I just had to try it. I was surprised by how tender and delicious the kale was and later learned that by using vinaigrette helps breaks down the celluar wall of the kale and make it softer and easier to consume.

Nikki’s Spicy Kale Salad with Smoky Vinaigrette was absolutely AMAZING! If you are looking for a great cook book I suggest that you pick up a copy of Nikki Bell “A bit of this, a bit of that”. This cook book can be described in Nikki’s own words as “revolutionizing southern classics with a Caribbean twist and an eclectic remake of traditional comfort food”. Please visit http://www.NikkiCanCook.com and order your cook book today, it’s packed with over 30 recipes! This weekend I plan on making my own kale salad and will post what I create. Be sure to follow her on twitter: @NikkiCanCook she tweets out amazing recipes and helpful tips and best of all she responds to questions!!! Gotta love it!

Nikki signing my cook book!!

Nikki signing my cook book!!

My signed copy!

My signed copy!

Nikki Cook Book

Me, Nikki and Shay of www.jchanet.com

Me, Nikki and Shay of http://www.jchanet.com

2 Comments on “What The Kale Are You Eating??”

  1. J'Chanet says:

    That was a great event and yes her recipes are amazing. It’s about time you came over to the Kale side lol


Leave a Reply

