Weekend Rewind

This past weekend was filled with a lot of surprises, shocking moments and a lot of “awwwww” moments as well. First up would be the Sister 2 Sister “Girls Night Out” which was held on May 8th by http://s2smagazine.com/ event that was held at the lovely Mason Murer Art Gallery http://masonmurer.com/ which I attended with fellow blogger Shay Briggs of J’Chanet blog http://www.jchanet.com/. I have only been reading Sister 2 Sister magazine which seems like forever so I was uber excited to finally meet Jamie Foster Brown who is the owner and publisher of the magazine which launched in 1988. I will tell you that she was exactly how I imagined her to be, bubbly, kind and so cordial with each and every person that attended that event. There were a lot of venders there, mostly independently owned brands and some major brands but they all seemed to coincide with each other.

This event brought out the city hottest celebs which included, Tameka “Tiny” Harris, Clifford “TIP” Harris, Toya Wright, Apollo Nida….yes you read that right the one and only from The Real Atlanta Housewives….I was shocked as well. The cast members of “Married to Medicine” and Tara Lewis from “Sister Hood” among many others. My stilettos had given me my 5min warning so I didn’t stay until they started to clean up but I came, I saw, I left. The event was “okay” I was really expecting it to be more and the swag bags that were given out totally SUCKED!! I am working on another post about these events with poor planning and it will be a good one so stay tuned for that.

Now my second event on Saturday, May 10th which was held at Westside Cultural Arts Center was one that I was waiting on! The AMLA Legend Style Society or as the hashtag read #Legendary Style Soiree with celebrity guest host Tracee Ellis Ross ( you know Diana Ross daughter) and hair stylist Johnny Wright ( keeps the First Lady hair in order) had me pulling out my finest vintage outfit I could find to attend this event. The event was really nice, nice mixed crowd of Bloggers and Fashionistas and even a few celebrities came through to show love to Tracee who wasn’t so willing to so show love back or even her face for that matter but decided to throw “shade” like none other. The story is that she doesn’t respect or want to be photographed with “Reality Stars” so when Tameka “Tiny” Harris, KeKe Wyatt & Shekinah came through (who are all actually relevant and on television weekly) to show support it was painfully obvious that Tracee was gonna be a “no show”.

The swag bag from this event made up for that foolishness from Sister 2 Sister was handing out because it was filled with actual products!! Oh and on a quick note: My Mother’s Day was fabulous and I spent it with my mini-me and her Father, but Mother’s day is every day with those two in my life and I truly enjoyed it. I have included a few pictures because I was totally over it this weekend.

Amla products

Me and fellow Blogger J'Chanet check out her blog!

Me and fellow Blogger J’Chanet check out her blog!

Loving my Vincent Camuto Shoes

Loving my Vincent Camuto Shoes

Leave a Reply

